Hosted by Darren Baker
1/35th OIF ruin, should I build or buy?
UM83CANES
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 275 posts
Armorama: 242 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 07, 2007 - 08:12 AM UTC
Fist, a little background, I’m currently working on Dragon’s M1A1 AIM and although I’ve NEVER built one before, I would like to place it in a small diorama in order to display it. Verlinden offers some nice OIF ruins, but I am considering building a small ruined structure myself. On one hand, making the structure from scratch seems like it would be more satisfying and on the other the $20 Verlinden is asking for essentially two walls with no interior seems a little steep.

So here are my basic questions:

If I don’t have any of the materials can I end up acquiring them for around $20 or am I better off just plunking down the money for Verlinden’s set? What “must haves” should I purchase other than foam-core board, white glue and spackle etc? (If that is basically it I feel fairly good about my budget).

Finally, and most importantly for a novice like me, how does one go about determining / calculating the dimensions of say a two story wall and the proper height / width of window openings etc in 1/35th scale? Is there a standard conversion formula or chart I can use?

More or less, I’m talking about assembling two “shelled-out” walls at a 45 degree angle to create the remnants of a two basic two story building. Am I correct in assuming this is a fairly basic and easy to accomplish project or am I better off going for the Verlinden kit?

Thanks in advance for your attention and input, who know maybe after a few decades I’ll be able to attempt some of the masterful work I’ve seen here

Noah

imagoodsniper
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 123 posts
Armorama: 111 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 07, 2007 - 11:27 AM UTC
Well first off hi,