DaveyVdE
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 07, 2007 - 06:59 AM UTC
Hi, I'm a beginner modeller from belgium,
i am building diorama's for a couple of months now, and i wanted to make a nice
gravel shoreline like on this pic:

I made my ground, put the men on it, and now i have to start on the water, but
only now i realise i really don't know how to do it...
I have "Water effects" acrylic gel from vallejo, wich i plan to use...
but what and how do I do first ? do I need to color my botom underneath the water
first, before I apply the gel, or do I have to work in layers, and what tool and/or
techniques are best for creating some small waves and foam ?
I searched the forum, but all I couldn't find much about shorelines etc that helped me..

So, if maybe someone can help me thx !

greetings from Belgium !
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 07, 2007 - 11:10 AM UTC
Nice to have you here, nice to see more diorama builders.
As far as water goes it can be intimidating because you have to get it right the first time or your in for a huge 'fix'.

here is a recent thread regarding water Water Thread

You should always put color down before water goes in. In my opinion it's better to be safe than sorry. If the water comes out at all translucent some color will show through. For a gravel beach I would look into using Rail Road ballast or rail road pebbles.
I would paint it various shades of blacks and grays to get lots of variations. I would add greenish/grayish washes for algea. I would extend the gravel all the way to the edge (under water too).

I have never used the gel you have so I can't say directly how. Lots of products require a few layers to get thickness. I would test it in a small hand made bin/container made out of kitchen foil.