_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
patterns
jrrivc
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 207 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Friday, August 31, 2007 - 01:15 PM UTC
I'm fairly new to this hobby, and I'm wondering if someone out there can help me with camouflage patterns for WW11 German tanks. How to do

thanks
jrrivc
thebear
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
KitMaker: 3,960 posts
Armorama: 3,579 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 01, 2007 - 06:12 AM UTC
Hi Frank ...hmmmmm like that's really a big order you asking there ...German armor at the beginning of the war were painted a dark gray color ,some had a very dark brown camo pattern which took up 1/3 of the area of the tank . This seems to have been mostly a hard edge camo scheme but i think it could vary . After the French campaigne the brown was dropped and just the gray was used up until the beginning of 1943 when a new base color was introduced ..the was known as dunklegelb (dark yellow ) to this dark green and red brown paint was furnished to camoflage the tank as was seen fit .(usually sprayed on ). this was done till around september of 1944 when it was decided to add the camo colors at the factories .. Many different finishes were tried but most were a hard edge finish ..there were exceptions . After that things get a bit iffy ...I believe that some manufacturers switched over to a green base somewhere at the beginning of 1945 while other manufacturers stayed with the dark yellow . Now this is only the basic stuff ,there are also Afrikakorps vehicles ,but that's another story ...
I hope this is what you were looking for ..If you need anymore info just ask or PM me and I'll try and help you out .

Rick
jrrivc
Visit this Community
Posted: Saturday, September 01, 2007 - 03:58 PM UTC
Hi Rick,