First time using photoetch
xplan303ex
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 94 posts
Armorama: 65 posts
Posted: Monday, September 24, 2007 - 02:27 PM UTC
Hi all,
I am currently building Tamiya's 1/48 Tiger I Afrika Corps and I bought the Aber photoetch detail set for it. This is my first time trying to use one of these sets and I am finding it almost impossible to fold and glue this things together. I can barely see some of them. I am using Mission Model's Etch Mate for folding and a pair of nose pliers, but still, very hard. I haven't folded the first part successfully. The worst is trying to glue the parts, the CA won't hold them strong enough and they fall pretty easily.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips about handling and folding photoetch.

Thanks in advance.

wonktnodi
Visit this Community
Nevada, United States
KitMaker: 190 posts
Armorama: 123 posts
Posted: Monday, September 24, 2007 - 04:10 PM UTC
I’ve never tried the Aber sets before but I’ve worked with Eduard’s etch metal sets, as for bending I use a set of machinist tweezers to hold the part while I bend it. If the part needs like a 90-degree bend then what I do is line up the bend line (or where it needs the bend) to the side of the tweezers, start the bend with my finger, and finish the bend with a steel ruler.

The best was I have found to stick the metal to the plastic is, once the part is ready I’ll put a tiny drop of extra thick super glue on the metal part and set it where it has to go. The thick super glue will give you a few seconds before it cures allowing you to set the part in its final position, then take some thin super glue and go over the edges of the part. The thin super glue will get pulled under the part and will hold it on more securely. If pressed hard enough the metal will still pop off your model so you need to be careful. I hope this helps.
tjkelly
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
KitMaker: 1,132 posts
Armorama: 1,123 posts