_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: IDF [Israeli Defense Forces]
Armor and AFVs of the IDF army from 1947-today.
Hosted by Darren Baker
IDF color help plz!
MusicOn
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 179 posts
Armorama: 178 posts
Posted: Saturday, December 01, 2007 - 04:53 PM UTC
Alright, so I'm working on my latest project - a pair of IDF M113s (an M163 and a Zelda). I wanted to contrast the two by having the M163 be the "desert" color that the IDF uses, with the Zelda being the grayer color.

Being a thorugh researcher, I of course consulted the idfmodelling color chart and decided on "Israeli Sand Gray 61-73" for the M163 and "Israeli Sand Gray 82" for the Zelda using the Tamiya paint recipes.

I was very happy with the look of the M163, but the Zelda with 50/50 Med Gray/Buff was just a pale gray/tan color. I then tried 75/25 gray/buff but still too tan (i.e. not at all like the color swatch on the idfmodelling site). I'm going for this color:

It almost looks like it has a greenish tint.

Can anyone recommend a different recipe using Tamiya paint?

Thanks!
MusicOn
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 179 posts
Armorama: 178 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 02, 2007 - 09:00 AM UTC
bump
m4sherman
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,866 posts
Armorama: 1,808 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 02, 2007 - 02:54 PM UTC
From your pictures it looks like the Zelda is just a gray color muted by the natural color of the terrain. That said, colors can vary widely depending on the light, and how old and worn the paint is. Your tan paint is probably right. If you want to add more of a green tint, try a light overspray of thinned green. My guess is still that the APC in your picture was painted the gray color though.
Gphobby
Visit this Community
Krakow, Poland
KitMaker: 5 posts
Armorama: 4 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 09, 2008 - 01:21 PM UTC

Quoted Text