_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
appartment dio
penpen
Visit this Community
Hauts-de-Seine, France
KitMaker: 1,757 posts
Armorama: 929 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 14, 2002 - 04:07 AM UTC
hye everyone
I'm thinking about buiding a small "vignette" dio representing a room. There would be 2 or 3 soldiers reloading / firing downthrough the window. Ah, yes, it's WWII, but I haven't decided on which side yet.
I've got tissue for the wallpaper, resin for the door frames, balsa for a wooden floor.
What else should I need ?
Any hints, suggestions, councels ?

penpen
Tin_Can
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 1,560 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 14, 2002 - 06:39 AM UTC
Acetate to simulate broken windows? I'm not a dio expert by a long shot but I know this is sometimes used to simulate broken windows.
CARFACE
KitMaker: 128 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 14, 2002 - 10:23 AM UTC
Hi Penpen,
I think you may need to represent wiring and plumbing if the walls are broken. Isn't there a 1/35th Bathroom kit in resin out there somewhere?
Good Luck and keep us posted
Chuck
AndersHeintz
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 2,250 posts
Armorama: 464 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 14, 2002 - 10:35 AM UTC
PenPen,

Great Idea, I really like it and can see endless posibilities as far as interior (depending on what room it is, what room is it?). My question(s) is what are you going to use for a base and how are you going to build up the walls and the heights? You can get 1/8" plywood or use firm cardboard as a frame. Then build up with either putty or plaster, however Id suggest plaster since the qualities of the plaster (easy to crack, scrape and texture + its realistic). I get a picture in my mind of some of the scenes in Saving Private Ryan, where the American boys fight the Germans in the city from the upper levels. Cool Stuff.
Good Luck and as previously said, keep us posted.
penpen
Visit this Community