_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Glue + Windows = Disaster
bracomadar
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 410 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 11:18 PM UTC
Being a newbie modeler, I'm probably asking a question that gets asked a lot, so if it's been addressed before, if you would be ever so kind to direct me to the correct post/article I'd be ever so grateful. Anyway, I've done models before, but I've only done one that involved clear glass that turned out clean and without any clue on the glass. How do you guys install windshields on vehicles without getting glue on it? If you do get glue on it, is there something that will take it off? It's not that I over-glue, it's usually resulting from me getting glue on my fingers, not realizing it, and then transferring it over when I set the clear piece in its place on the model.
keenan
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 5,272 posts
Armorama: 2,844 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 11:28 PM UTC
A lot of people use Elmer's (white) glue to glue in windshields. If you cen some on the "glass" just clean it off with a Q tip. You might also try glueing it in plave with Future floor polish. Future dries clear so even if you do get some of the glass it won't matter.
Roadkill
Visit this Community
Antwerpen, Belgium
KitMaker: 2,029 posts
Armorama: 822 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 04, 2003 - 11:29 PM UTC
Since you live in the US then this should be no problem for you.

When I want to glue windshields then I use JOHNSON FUTURE for this, just hold the window on its place and put a little future on a 000 bruch and let the capilary action do the rest.

It is strong enough, not as strong as "gluing" but normaly it wont fall of, I dropped my willy''s jeep once and my wheels and other stuff came off, but the windshield stayed put.

#:-)
Sabot
KitMaker: 12,596 posts
Armorama: 9,071 posts