_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Small Scale
Dioramas of subjects smallers than 1/32 scale.
Hosted by Darren Baker
MY FIRST AFV
oniria
Visit this Community
Madrid, Spain / Espaņa
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 8 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 03, 2008 - 10:59 PM UTC
Hi all
Well this is my first try at painting AFVs. I usually just paint 20mm figures, and I thought it was about time I had a go at tanks.I tried to follow Brent Watterson's marvellous tutorial at the GWP forum as much as possible. The model is from Dragon. The tanker is a small conversion using T.Boustead sculpted figures (I don't really recall if they are TQD or Elhiem) I added the ear phones using Duro putty and a thin sheet of foil. The wire is simple sowing thread (It turned out a bit too thick, but I didn't find anything thinner around). The destroyed building is from TP models.
All improvent tips and corrections are very welcome. I personally think I overdone the weathering and some of the cammo patterns are not very well redendered. I think I didn't solve correctly the problem I had with the decasl. I solved the antenna problem using a used E string from one of my electric guitar. Anyway I'll try and do better next time...( I hope...)
All improvent tips and corrections are very welcome.
Thanks vor viewing

Saludetes

exer
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
KitMaker: 6,048 posts
Armorama: 4,619 posts
Posted: Monday, August 04, 2008 - 12:15 AM UTC
Very nice work Angel. Your photos are excellent as well. I can't build in that scale -my fingers are too big and my eyes too bad. Well done.
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 11,718 posts
Armorama: 7,138 posts
Posted: Monday, August 04, 2008 - 12:47 AM UTC
I have to agree for my eye the weathering is a bit heavy. It's well done, just heavy, it makes the whole thing a bit 'soft'.

When you stop and realize the scale and realize that you'd normally be viewing it from about 3 feet away, you really have to think how nice this is.