_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
relichunter00
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 61 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 19, 2002 - 01:07 AM UTC
Hi, I just wanted to introduce myself to the group. I am new to modeling and I just can't wait to build my first one. I am an Armor enthusiast as I am a former M1/M1A1 tank crewman with the 2/64 AR, 3rd INF DIV in Germany and with the 3/37 AR , 1st INF DIV in FT Riley, KS. After leaving active duty, I joined the local National Guard unit here in TN and was sent back in time to become a M60A3 tanker(talk about a shock). I really love armor and have always wanted to build a model of an M1, but never took the time. I'm ready now!!!

Okay, Intro over now down to business, What would the group consider the best model for me to get my feet wet. It does not have to be an M1at first, just a good learning experience. I welcome all responses and appreciate them.

P.S. I Love this site, I just happen to stumble on to it a few days ago and I can't get enough of the pictures and articles. Kudo's to the webmaster.
210cav
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 6,149 posts
Armorama: 4,573 posts
Posted: Friday, April 19, 2002 - 01:15 AM UTC
Amigo--I am a former 3/64 AR guy from my days in Schweinfurt. Good to have you here. Great people. If I can recommend to you a resonable kit to start this marvelous hobby off with it would probably be either the Tamiya Sherman or Stuart tanks. Straight forward kits, clear instructions, vinyl tracks, and generally speaking nice decals. Stay engaged and show off your work.
Best of luck to you!
DJ
HunterCottage
Visit this Community
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,717 posts
Armorama: 629 posts
Posted: Friday, April 19, 2002 - 01:17 AM UTC
Welcome to the sight!! Site that is... It is quite the sight though isn't it!