Hosted by Darren Baker
Trumpeter M1126 Stryker ICV
tread_geek
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 2,847 posts
Armorama: 2,667 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 07:11 AM UTC
Let me start by saying that there are some extremely impressive Braille Scale builds in this forum. My kudos to the modellers here.

As the title mentions, this is my 1/72 entry in the Stryker-Chariots of Fire campaign. It is only the second campaign that I have been involved with and also only my second build this year. The kit was interesting to build but while the detail is great, it did have it's flaws. Not all the parts fit perfectly and putty and sanding were required in areas. The build is pretty much out of the box but with minor (or for some not so minor) enhancements such as creating brass grab/hatch handles and boring out the lifting eyes. (see below)

Bored out lifting eye.

I'm still new at using our DSLR camera so the pictures of the completed build could obviously be better. I took over 100 shots experimenting with various camera settings and lighting conditions.

I'd like to thank my SWMBO for both her encouragement and help with weathering and photography.

Thanks for looking!

Cross-eyed tread_geek
Panther64
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 395 posts
Armorama: 365 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 12:37 PM UTC
Nice looking Stryker Tread Geek! I like the weathering, not too overdone. You got a winner!
Can you elaborate on the areas you had trouble with?
MacTrucks
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 285 posts
Armorama: 228 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 01:24 PM UTC
Interesting that you had some of the trouble that you did. Mine only got about 1/2 way done and stalled out. Too much going on in November. I need to recheck mine and would like to know more about the parts fit issues that you had.
tread_geek
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 05:15 PM UTC