_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: British Armor
Discuss all types of British Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Italeri DUKW British Royal Army (color)
musicwerks
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
KitMaker: 375 posts
Armorama: 335 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 10, 2008 - 02:35 AM UTC
Dear friends,

I am totally new to British AFV and vehicles, so please guide me along. I recently swapped my hobby shop vouchers for a brand new Italeri DUKW British Royal Army.

I am very interested in modelling the DUKW variant in Malaysia 1948 (I remembered hearing something about some post WWII warfare from my folks when I visited some war memorial in KL in the 70s, correct my history if I am wrong )....

a) The instructions says Light Ghost Grey for the veh. (I heard from a plane buddy this color is generally for modern aircrafts). Is this color correct for a DUKW, if so what brand of paint is good representation of this color?

b) Just out of curiousity, are the British vehicles in Malaya of this color scheme?

c) Does anyone have some details of the action of these DUKWs back in Malaysia then? I am very very tempted to do my first tropical dio with coconut trees, kampung chickens etc...

Thanks for the patience.

Cheers
Kiongs, aka music werks Tiger Konigs
AlanL
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 14,499 posts
Armorama: 11,675 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 10, 2008 - 07:21 AM UTC
Hi Kiong,

Here's a link that will provide a lot of info about the Malayan Emergency.

http://www.britains-smallwars.com/malaya/index.html

Also look on IWM site and there are some good pics of the troops.

Can't say whether or not DUKWs were there as I don't know enough about this event, but if they were then they would likely have been olive green.

The kit you have is marked for the RN I believe, which is why the Grey colour.

Found this on Wikipedia but no pics