E-100 (DML 1:72)
PieterK
Visit this Community
Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
KitMaker: 17 posts
Armorama: 16 posts
Posted: Monday, March 23, 2009 - 06:42 AM UTC
Hi all,

Hmm.. let me first introduce myself. Im Pieter, 24 y/o, living in the Netherlands. I'm a medical biology student at the uni of Nijmegen. With respect to scale modelling I'm particularly interested in German and soviet tanks and tank-destroyers, all in 1/72 scale.

This is my Dml E-100 model in it's present state.

I actually completed this project quite a while ago. When it comes to scale modelling however, 'finished', in most cases, is merely a temporary designation as I try to keep my models up to date with my steadily progressing skill.

The E-100, being a prototype that never reached completion, let alone saw actual action in combat, presents an ideal opportunity to toy with unconventional, experimental camouflage designs and such.

Some pictures:

Until recently I worked exclusively with Tamiya and Vallejo acrylics. After discovering the miraculous potency of oil-paints when it comes to adding depth and vividness to your models, I've been zealously refurbishing the larger part of my 16 1:72 models. My e-100 however still needs to receive such an oily treatment.

greetz

Pieter

PS. the camouflage scheme applied represents my interpretation of an urban-winter scheme, hence the combination of german grey and white, rather then a traditional full white coat. I dubbed it 'lightning camouflage' as the white stripes that are diagonally running over the vehicle, vaguely resemble bolts of lightning against a night sky... or maybe thats just what i like to see .

The hull red primer of the barrel was applied with the intention to give the tank a 'proto-type' like appearance, creating an aura that should intuitively associate it with a berlin-april1945 scenario, or any such setting in the final days of the war, rather then hinting at a what-if-1946 scenario.