_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
How do you paint tracks?
RomanS
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 12 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 08, 2009 - 11:25 AM UTC
Hey everyone

So i have a few Dragon kits, in particular (Elefant, Jagdpanther and Pzkpfw I )
They are the smart kits.

Im very new to the "MagicTracks" so i kind of have an idea on how to put them together.

But can you guys recommend on how to paint them. Whats the best technique?

Do you glue them on around the wheels, and than paint them after? But wouldnt it be harder to get into tougher areas with a brush. Like the inner side, around the wheels etc...

Or do you paint them before you start glue them?

Thank you for any tips.

BigfootV
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 1,624 posts
Armorama: 994 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 08, 2009 - 11:42 AM UTC
Hi Roman,

Their are different opinions on paint tracks.
My opinion is the following: Put them together,paint them before putting them on the kit.

Gunmetal, silver, steel, and rust for the paint.

Weathering should be done after paint and while tracks are on kit, I.E. mud between running gear, etc.. Again, this has different opinions on this step also.

Hope this helps.

RomanS
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 12 posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 08, 2009 - 11:49 AM UTC
Brian

thank you so much for your input

Painting and weathering is no problem for me. I have a lot of experience with techniques on painting/weathering.

Mostly I want to know the best technique to paint the tracks. Im more familiar with Tamiya's out of the box tracks. The rubber ones that are ready to be wraped around the wheels.