_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Mr. Surfacer problem
AlxUSMC
Visit this Community
Armed Forces Europe, United States
KitMaker: 216 posts
Armorama: 132 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 - 04:02 AM UTC
I am new to modern modeling (after some years for the Marines), and probaly the only one with miles of where I live that does so. I have come accross Mr. Surfacer 1000 and have read about problems using this product with an airbrush. I just pre built a Dragon kit for a
*Pz.Sfl.IVb 10.5 cm le.FH. 18/1 Ad.Kfz.165/1 Ausf.A (sorry I dont know the correct term, apparently a rare German Armor) and I dont want to ruin it. Can anyone please clear this up for me? Also, does anyone know of a hobby store in Germany (I'm stationed here and hoping someone knows) thanks.
spitfire303
Visit this Community
Vendee, France
KitMaker: 1,437 posts
Armorama: 1,406 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 - 05:13 AM UTC
Hi Alex, I use Mr surfacer 1000 with my 0.3mm airbrush. All you have to do is to thin it with a thinner. I use Mr Leveling Thinner (400 ml bottle). It has also the retarder. Just thin it 1 portion mr surfacer 2 prtions mr levelling thinner (I also used it 1:1). I don't know any german hobbyshops nut you can buy it from Lucky Model, Hobby Easy (both based in HK) or Jadar from Poland.

spit
AlxUSMC
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 - 07:39 AM UTC
Spit,

Thanks a mil, here is my dilemma though, they wont ship to my military address and all I have access to is hardware store lacquer thinner, will it work or is it a bad idea???
GALILEO1
Visit this Community
Maryland, United States
KitMaker: 1,794 posts
Armorama: 1,431 posts
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 - 07:49 AM UTC
Hi Alex