_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
BTR-80 Zvezda 1/35
drkwing
Visit this Community
Ankara, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 233 posts
Armorama: 229 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 02:31 AM UTC
Hi everyone,

I've been a reader of the forums for sometime and I thought to participate with a work of mine somehow.

I have been building this BTR-80 kit from Zvezda for about two months.

Progress was real slow because of the somehow low quality of the kit. But that is the only BTR-80 kit around nowadays. I'd say a new molded kit with better details and authenticity would be really good .

Here are some shots from the build process:

Best regards
drkwing
Visit this Community
Ankara, Turkey / Türkçe
Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 02:34 AM UTC
Here are some shots of the assembled and primed kit. I have used Tamiya primer.

drkwing
Visit this Community
Ankara, Turkey / Türkçe
Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 02:46 AM UTC
After priming I have started the painting of my BTR.

I've decided on a single green tone vehicle. My aim in the beginning was to model a Turkish BTR-80, but I was somehow couldn't involve myself with preparing decals for Turkish army. The model will most probably finish as a Russian vehicle.

I have used Tamiya Nato Green and Black green in varying tones. The underbelly and bottom zones were painted in a darker tone; whereas the sides and roof were in lighter shade.

After 2 coats, I've prepped a mixture of Nato green and white and sprayed the mixture mostly on the roof panels (mid section) in what could be described as post-shading.

Also sprayed some Tamiya smoke to the rear of the vehicle around the exhaust outlet.

here is the result:

rolf
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 301 posts
Armorama: 250 posts
Posted: Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 05:11 PM UTC
Nice job so far Oykun, is this same kit as the Dragon BTR-80? Great job.

Roy
drkwing
Visit this Community