_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
Aircraft Modeler Making the Leap Needs Advice
melsharkskin
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Friday, September 04, 2009 - 01:46 PM UTC
Gentlemen:
I am a lifelong modeler of aircraft, and that rare species who can rightly call himself a "modeling journalist," having edited and written for the major aircraft modeling magazines. I mention this only to show that I am not a novice BUT...
I have built everything that can be modeled at some time in my life, and every so often detour into ship's cannons, motorcycles and automobiles. But I have not once in my life built an AVF of any kind except the ancient Tamiya 1/35 Mk. 42 I did only to experiment with fading effects with OD.
So I have chosen for my debut project the old Italeri 1/35 BM-13N Katyusha kit, which uses a ZIS truck, whose model, or year of make I do not know. It is, I'm almost certain, a post-war truck.
What I am asking for, short of a complete primer on AFV building, is how best to attack this thing. I am using the very nice and elaborate Eduard frets for this kit, which replace the launch rails, rocket fins, and lots of things on the truck itself. PE is not problem for me. The only reference I have, however, is the Kagero Topshots book, which has plenty of detail shots, but most of the photos are of a different carrier truck.
I have no idea how well the Soviets maintained these things in the field, as far as cosmetics go. Were they dented up and dirty? Or were they kept in neat condition? How heavily would it be weathered? And what is this grey-green color? Is there an aviation equivalent? It looks, according to the book photos, like their cockpit color for WW II aircraft such as the Il-2 Sturmovik.