_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Campaigns
Group builds and online competetions. Join the fun!
Hosted by Darren Baker
1/72nd scale diorama underway
Korpse
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 382 posts
Armorama: 378 posts
Posted: Monday, October 12, 2009 - 04:18 PM UTC
Hello

Im a newbie at this site, so hope I'm in the right place with this post.

I'm a bit of a novice at dioramas. I'm a big fan of them, as they are a great way to display models, and put them into a context. Figures also add a lot to models and dioramas, and I find painting them quite diffcult too.

Having found this site, and campaign (lets get small) seems an excellent way to get me moving on both a detailed diorama and some figures

I've had a started diorama base sitting around for a couple of years. Its a piece of MDF about a yard long and a bit over a foot wide (90 cm x 34 cm).

I had a piece of rail track attached and 4 buildings only one of which was permanently attached.

I've been using this mainly as something to place models on, to take pictures.

Anyway the task now is to make it into a full permanent diorama.

The aim of this diorama is to represent a battalion HQ area, behind the frontline, but within easy supply & communication distance of the front, somewhere on the eastern front, late in the war, (and not in winter months)

Though the damage to some buildings is not new, it indicates that the war is not far away, the area is in a temporarily stabilised sector of the front. As well as Battalion HQ, a main dressing station is also located here, and some of the buildings are used by the Quartermaster's platoon to store and distribute supplies for the Infantry Companies in the forward areas.