Hosted by Darren Baker
M7 Priest Kitbash/scratchbuild
Capt_Concussion
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 40 posts
Armorama: 39 posts
Posted: Monday, April 19, 2010 - 12:16 PM UTC
Like many I'm frustrated by the lack of Allied vehicles in 1/72.

Having recently built (but not finished ) the Revell re-release of the M7 Priest (1/76) and seeing the up-coming release of the Italeri fast build of the same I thought a kitbash was in order.

However no sign of the Italeri release so I thought I might try my hand at scratchbuilding

I have used the Mirage M3 for the chassis (I can't scratch build bogies!) and scratchbuilt the hull. This is my first attempt at any sort of scratchbuilding

Here:

Still plenty to do, not least the gun and the pulpit!. I will probably use the Matchbox kit I have for the gun and parts of the interior - so unfortunately I won't be completing the M7 in the Matchbox campaign. Though I do have a Matchbox Cromwell which I could perhaps hurry up!

Would be interersted to hear your comments on the Priest so far, and espiecally get any scratchbuild advice. I'm please with it so far
Capt_Concussion
Visit this Community
Posted: Monday, April 19, 2010 - 12:24 PM UTC
Of course, Murphy's law means that the Italeri kit will now become easily available!
PanzerAlexander
Visit this Community
Attica, Greece / Ελλάδα
KitMaker: 625 posts
Armorama: 608 posts
Posted: Monday, April 19, 2010 - 08:27 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Of course, Murphy's law means that the Italeri kit will now become easily available!

...and will be available at stores the day you finish the one you have been scratchbuilding

fsrpcunha
Visit this Community
Lisboa, Portugal
KitMaker: 39 posts
Armorama: 35 posts
Posted: Monday, April 19, 2010 - 08:43 PM UTC
That's a great scratch build. Don't forget the bolts between the tranny cover and the front plate.

And if you want to know more about the Italeri Priest: