_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
1/72 Dragon Sd.Kfz184 Ferdinand
Dirkpitt289
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 346 posts
Armorama: 38 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 - 04:54 PM UTC
Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at building armor. My comfort zone is aircraft so this is unknown waters for me so be kind.

I choose the Dragon Sd.kfz.184 Ferdinand in 1/72. I love the detail of the larger scale models but my home won't allow it. Lucky for me I found the highly Dragon kits.

Characteristics of the "Ferdinand," a German self-propelled gun

General
Weight 70-72 tons
Length 22 feet, 11 3/4 in
Height 9 feet, 10 in
Width 11 feet, 5 3/4 in
Track width 2 feet, 5 1/2 in
Clearance 1 foot, 7 1/2 in

Armor
Hull
Front 7.87 in
Sides (vertical) 6.29 in
Rear 4.33 in
Belly 1.57 in

Fighting Compartment
Front (vertical) 7.87 in
Sides (sloping) 3.74 in
Rear (sloping) 3.34 in
Roof 1.57 in
Mantlet plate 4.33 in

Armament
One 88-mm super-long gun fitted with muzzle brake.
One MG 42.

Ammunition carried
70-90 rounds for gun
2,000 rounds for MG.

Suspension
Six independently sprung bogies, diameter 2 feet, 7 1/2 inches; evenly spaced and not overlapping.

Performance
Maximum speed 12 1/2 mph
Cruising speed 6-9 mph
Maximum gradient 30°

Drive
Two Maybach motors, HL-120 TRM 300 hp each.

Crew
Total, six: commanding officer of ordnance--lieutenant (tank or artillery), gunner, mechanic-driver, radio operator, two loaders.

Brief History

What do the German Tiger tank and Ferdinand tank destroyer have in common?