ZSL-92 IFV OOB
Karl187
Visit this Community
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,094 posts
Armorama: 2,942 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 25, 2010 - 04:51 AM UTC
Hey guys!

This is my first build log here and its going to be Hobbyboss' ZSL-92 Infantry Fighting Vehicle.

Real thing:

First impressions of the kit are pretty good- there is plenty of stuff with some very finely rendered pieces (the amphibious propellers are my particular favourites), a good deal of photo-etch and six chunky vinyl tires along with the usual generic decals.

Prior to starting this I was working on some 1/48 stuff and the transition back to 1/35 was interesting- it seemed so big:

Anyway, on with the build, starting with the lower hull and suspension system:

Everything up to now was dead-on and went together fine. But I began preparing the suspension arm assembly and noticed a goof in the instructions. You are directed to put the assemblies on the wrong way round, they don't fit on the sides shown, they fit the opposite sides, thus:

Anyway, a minor goof for Hobbyboss and it's fairly easy to work out. The suspension arms go together well and are very sturdy.

Once the side doors are done, shown above, the water propellers are next and very well moulded and go together very well, looking the part.

After that there were steps added beneath the side doors (the locating holes need a little drilling out with a 0.5mm drill bit to have the steps sit right) and some more pieces to the suspension.

So thats step one finished, hopefully I'll have more to add tomorrow.

All comments/suggestions etc are welcome.

KARL187
GulfWarrior
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 1,051 posts
Armorama: 1,029 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 25, 2010 - 05:13 AM UTC
Karl,

Nice looking work so far! I've never picked up any Hobby Boss products. I'm thinking I might have to take a look into one!
bison126
Visit this Community
Correze, France