_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
Tamyia T62/M60A2
Zinker55
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 2 posts
Armorama: 2 posts
Posted: Friday, November 26, 2010 - 05:27 PM UTC
Hello,

My first post, and I'm going to ask for some help...I'm an old Cold War vet getting into modeling. Found my Tamiya T62 and M60a1 and A2 kits. I crewed both of the 60's and actually got to drive a T62...Are there "upgrades" for these kits? And if you all can lead me to the right spot to start, I'll get out of the way and do some modelling.....

Thanks,
mat
Visit this Community
Limburg, Netherlands
KitMaker: 894 posts
Armorama: 643 posts
Posted: Friday, November 26, 2010 - 08:56 PM UTC
Hi Steven, and welcome

I can only comment on the T-62. The Tamiya kit looks like a T-62 from a distance, but if you look closely the kit has many flaws. Trying to improve it with new tracks or photo etch is in my opinion a bit of a waste of money. I would just build it out of the box, or if you really think accuracy is important buy the Trumpeter kit which is much better (but still not perfect). If you search through the forums for "T-62"or "Tamiya T-62" you'll find some more detailed info on the issue.

cheers,

Matthijs
Spiderfrommars
Visit this Community
Milano, Italy
KitMaker: 3,845 posts
Armorama: 3,543 posts
Posted: Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:30 PM UTC
Hi Steven
Hi agree whit mat. T62 Tamiya is an old kit (over 30 years old. The kit modelling ancient era ...). It has always the Tamiya quality, but actually is wrong in shape and surely not as accurate as the Trumpy model. Buying some detailing set for this kit it's a bit waste of money.
However you can buld it OOB just for fun
Someone obtained nice results whit this old kit:

Anyway you can find some info
HERE

HERE(written in italian language)

HERE
https://aeroscale.kitmaker.net/forums/139315

HERE

cheers, good luck

MrNeil
Visit this Community