_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
superglue
zhengwei4226
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 29 posts
Armorama: 26 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 02:49 PM UTC
Hi

I'm relatively new to this hobby (I started around 2-3 years ago) so I would like to know if i can use superglue to glue to flue metal and photoetch parts to plastic?
AngryDog
Visit this Community
Singapore / 新加坡
KitMaker: 1,114 posts
Armorama: 900 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 03:27 PM UTC
I would assume you're working with resin & photoetch kits now...?

You can also use epoxy for large areas or white glue for real small parts.
But super glue IMHO is the only way to go for All "non plastic to plastic" adhering. Most important is that you sandpaper with 500 grit or so (particularly) the metal part, as well as the plastic part.
Then, wipe clean with a paper towel, if it's greasy then wipe with alcohol or enamel thinner for the metal part.
For the plastic part scrub with an old toothbrush and wash with warm water + mild non scented detergent.

For real small or difficult parts, such as grab handles or ship railings, scribe a line, poke a hole and / or use some Tamiya liquid cement (green cap) on the plastic part, this will melt it a bit and helps to temporary fix the metal part. Leave it for a day and secure with super glue for the permanent strong bond.

Remember, less is best when using superglue for the actual adhering between parts. But you can reinforce the joint later with a bit more glue to seal the edges.
vonHengest
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 5,854 posts
Armorama: 4,817 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 04:15 PM UTC
Another option would be Gator Glue.

Just pick whichever you are comfortable with and you should do just fine.
GeraldOwens
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 3,736 posts
Armorama: 3,697 posts