_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
Help with U.S. invasion T-62
BorisS1990
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 27, 2011 - 05:49 AM UTC
Hi everyone, i guess an introduction would be in order first. My name's Boris, I have been building models off and on for about 7 years now, mostly armor, but also a plane here and there. Recently i became interested in R/C tanks. I just like running tanks as much as I do building them. However I really don't have the space to run the bigger 1/16th scale models, and I just didn't like the limited selection in that scale. After seeing some 1/35 scale armor converted to R/C on youtube, I decided that's just what I'm looking for.

So my first project will be a T-62. However I wanted to make it a bit more interesting and do a sort of "What-If" T-62. What if, in 1989, the Soviet government decided to launch an invasion of the U.S. and Western Europe in order to keep a hold on their power. Kind of like World in Conflict

What I need help with is deciding which model of T-62 would have been the most likely to be used in such an invasion. I was thinking a T-62M or M1. Were those still in use during 1989? I will be using the Trumpeter kit as a base, with Friul Model tracks. I will also do some "field modifications" to the tank to make it a little more clear that it is invading the U.S. and not just a generic Soviet T-62. Probably add a bustle rack to the back of the turret where I can put some Coca-Cola and Budweiser cases to make it more "American" looking. What do you guys think? Maybe add a plow on the front cuz I like tanks with plows.
retiredyank
Visit this Community
Arkansas, United States
KitMaker: 11,610 posts
Armorama: 7,843 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 27, 2011 - 06:36 AM UTC