_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
T-64BV WIP
arpikaszabo
Visit this Community
Praha, Czech Republic
KitMaker: 674 posts
Armorama: 637 posts
Posted: Monday, February 28, 2011 - 04:44 AM UTC
Hello everybody, my name is Arpad and I am a modeler from Prague. This is the first build I post here. Feel free to scrutinize every detail.

I am trying to reproduce the t-64BV. This tank was fielded by the Soviet army in large numbers and saw limited action during the first Chechnyan war, I think. One unit was captured by rebels/freedom fighters, but it was soon destroyed. You can see a few pics of the wreck here. http://armorama.kitmaker.net/forums/97475&page=1

This will be a complex build. I will use a Miniarm T-64b turret, ERA blocks. The tracks will be from Masterclub and I am going to modify a Skif hull. If my scratching attempt fails I will get an SP designs replacement upper hull.

First, I would like to start with reviewing the Miniarm T-64B with anti radiation layer turret set. The product is packed in the usual Miniarm soft green box. I consider this inadequate, because the parts barely fit in and the delicate details were damaged in every set I got from this manufacturer so far. The instructions are photocopied, quite usable. This is one of the simpler Miniarm turret sets, the build is straightforward provided you get the right parts.