_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: AA/AT/Artillery
For discussions about artillery and anti-aircraft or anti-tank guns.
Hosted by Darren Baker
The m 109
keo
Visit this Community
Nordjylland, Denmark
KitMaker: 613 posts
Armorama: 508 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 04:18 AM UTC
I´m about to start a project of the M109 in Danish service, and as I have no personal experience with the M109 howitzers I need some information on the subject.

In the picture I have enlarged a detail of a device located to the right of the gun barrel: what is this?

18Bravo
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 7,219 posts
Armorama: 6,097 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 05:31 AM UTC
It's the speed counter.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
Armorama: 13,742 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 05:53 AM UTC
More appropriately called a chronograph, but yes, it calculates the speed of the round, aka the muzzle velocity. The muzzle velocity is used to measure differences in propellants to more accurately calculate a firing solution and be more precise with where the rounds land.
keo
Visit this Community
Nordjylland, Denmark
KitMaker: 613 posts
Armorama: 508 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 05:59 AM UTC
Thanks a lot Gents.

Not to be sene on this picture is a sort of "viewing devise" under the bracket for this. Is that part of an aiming "thingie"?
18Bravo
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 7,219 posts
Armorama: 6,097 posts
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 06:47 AM UTC

Quoted Text

More appropriately called a chronograph

But strangely enough, in three years as a chief on the gun, no one calls it that.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Posted: Wednesday, November 09, 2011 - 10:52 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Quoted Text

But strangely enough, in three years as a chief on the gun, no one calls it that.

Not sure why. In 2 years as an FDO, that is what we called it.