_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: IDF [Israeli Defense Forces]
Armor and AFVs of the IDF army from 1947-today.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Half track identity help
LAH1SS
Visit this Community
Australia
KitMaker: 231 posts
Armorama: 171 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 09:51 AM UTC
Hi Guys I am wondering if you can help I have managed to get some photos of IDF halftracks and I think one has been incorrectly labelled. The first pictures i have posted look like either an M2 or an M3 with fuel tanks on the back and is at Latrun but it has been labelled as an m5, it doesnt have the rounded corners like the Little field M5 am I correct or did some M5 come out with squared corners like the M2 and the M3

http://svsm.org/gallery/m5_halftrack/SG204864
http://svsm.org/gallery/m5_halftrack/SG204850

This is the Littlefield M5
http://svsm.org/gallery/M5Israeli/IMGP2929
http://svsm.org/gallery/M5Israeli/IMGP2938

Sorrry for asking i am brand new to halftacks and like anything IDF they can confuse the issue hahahaha. TIA
25PDRFG
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 187 posts
Armorama: 181 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 09:57 AM UTC
Front wheel arches are M2-M3 M5 were flat I think the front axle should be banjo type as well but dont Quote me
LAH1SS
Visit this Community
Australia
Posted: Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 10:30 AM UTC
I was thinking the same thing with the fornt fenders as well as the flat corner of the rear hull being the same as M2/M3.... I am just uncertain becuase I know the halftrack was produced by various companies and wasnt sure if there was standardised production between all factories
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,141 posts
Armorama: 950 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 03, 2012 - 10:39 AM UTC
The Latrun half-track should be labeled as a M3. All M2/M3 types had the squared off rear corners while M5/M9's had rounded corners.

BTW, the Littlefield M5 is a fun beast to drive!

Chris "toadman" Hughes