_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Photo Etch
skink1007
Visit this Community
Alabama, United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
Armorama: 4 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 24, 2012 - 10:26 PM UTC
This is a very stupid question, but I am new to this so please bear with me. Can you soldier Silver Photo Etch pieces? I know for sure you can soldier brass, but not so sure on the silver. I'm tempted to just try, but those after market kits are so expensive that I don't want to take a chance on ruining something.
Thank You
SDavies
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 979 posts
Armorama: 959 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 24, 2012 - 10:43 PM UTC
I have never heard of Silver Photo etched ??

I would have thought that the silver would have had a much too low melting point to be as useful as PE
jon_a_its
Visit this Community
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,336 posts
Armorama: 1,137 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 24, 2012 - 10:47 PM UTC
Hmm, I suspect that Silver etch would be eye-wateringly expensive!
Much more likely to be nickel silver, or nickel silver plated, (merely expensive!)
This tends to be tougher/springier than straight brass

This can be soldered sucessfully, with 'normal' solder, but parts need to be cleaned, use appropriate solder & heat source, so google Soldering Tutorials.

practice on a bit of the PE fret, and/or bits you are not going to use before committing to some of those teeny-tiny bits that don't allow for mistrakes!

Good luck
Karl187
Visit this Community
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,094 posts
Armorama: 2,942 posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 24, 2012 - 10:59 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I have never heard of Silver Photo etched ??

I would have thought that the silver would have had a much too low melting point to be as useful as PE

Perhaps he is talking about Eduard's stuff, it is silver, well a dull silver, in color.
skink1007