_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
What to do with Vinyl tyres??
gloucesternige
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 307 posts
Armorama: 283 posts
Posted: Friday, January 27, 2012 - 08:48 AM UTC
Hello everyone,

I'm getting close to fitting the wheels and tyres to my M1000 trailer from Hobby Boss.(See my build thread on this site). It has no less than 42 Vinyl tyres!!

I'm pretty new to AFV stuff, so am wondering if there any tricks you know of to make the glossy tyres look more realistic. I just want to flatten down the gloss and take away the "Blackness" a bit. I'm guessing acrylic paints will just flake off in time, so what do you do??

I am aware that Real model are due to release a set of resin wheels for the trailer, but, to be honest, I've put so much work into getting the wheels to look right, I want to use these horrible vinyl things!!

All suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nige
panzerbob01
Visit this Community
Louisiana, United States
KitMaker: 3,128 posts
Armorama: 2,959 posts
Posted: Friday, January 27, 2012 - 09:27 AM UTC
Nigel;

Hi!

Hobby Boss vinyl tires... Hey! I'm right with you - got me some of these things going onto a build, too But I only have 4 of them to fuss about (one of those HB German armored car kits)! 42 of the darned things... yikes! (sorry! ).

I think that the newer Hobby Boss items may be more stable and OK over time than maybe older items, such as some old vinyl tracks and tires which rotted kits and shed paint over the years. No data to substantiate this, but...