_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Modern - USA
Modern Armor, AFVs, and Support vehicles.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Academy M1151 + AM
supersxvmoto
Visit this Community
Croatia Hrvatska
KitMaker: 160 posts
Armorama: 153 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 01, 2012 - 03:43 AM UTC
Hi guys!

This is my first build log so I am really excited about this. I really like Humvee's especially those that are being used in Iraq & Afghanistan. So after looking more than hundred pictures online I decided to built M1151 with anti IED system like this one

but I am not trying to build 100% replica, this picture is more like a guideline

So, building is based on new Academy M1151 kit + AM products from Voyager, Legend, Dtoys, Windmark & D-corporation.

Voyager has released their PE set with some resin and there is a lot of details to be done with this set. Some parts are so small that sometimes i ask myself is there even point to put this on the model, but I really try to put all PE parts. Here is link if you want to see instructions in PDF:
http://ul.to/eexe7lae

But before Voyager set there was also Legend PE set + resin parts. Legend has some interesting parts like underbody protection, but not all the way, some details will be scratch build. Also there are tools, ammo boxes, canisters that are in resin.
Best way is to combine these two sets.

Legend instructions:

Now on to chassis & suspension. Building D-Corp modification set on Academy chassis was pretty easy because i used this site's instructions:
http://cafe.daum.net/sp3gogo/jtCG/5
I really didn't liked instruction sheet that came in the box, while parts are very good quality.

to be continued soon...

thanks for watching

Pops53
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 100 posts
Armorama: 98 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 01, 2012 - 04:16 AM UTC