Hosted by Darren Baker
Painting tracks
imatanker
Visit this Community
Maine, United States
KitMaker: 1,654 posts
Armorama: 1,565 posts
Posted: Monday, February 06, 2012 - 02:17 PM UTC
Hey Guys,I'm doing Revell's 1/76 Jagdpanther kit #03232.It's my first Braille Scale build and I have a couple of questions.The kit comes with rubber tracks and I was wondering how and with what I should paint them with so the paint does not flake off when I put them on the hull.Also,where can I get a couple of track sections to hang on the sides?Thanks,Jeff
weathering_one
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 458 posts
Armorama: 456 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 06:20 AM UTC
Jeff,

I'm not an expert but I have built 2 former Matchbox kits that Revell produces and the tracks worked out ok. I read somewhere that these vinyl tracks should be washed well with dish washing detergent and one person even suggested using a dilute solvent and primed with an enamel paint. I washed them with the dish soap and after dry I base coated them with Humbrol flat black enamel. After that I used acrylics and have had no issues with flaking paint to this point even after two years. As for spare tracks I'll have to leave that to someone more knowledgeable to answer.

Regards,
AJ
sabredog
Visit this Community
Western Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 607 posts
Armorama: 599 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 11:46 AM UTC
I spray soft vinyl tracks (Revell, Trumpeter, Airfix and Dragon - DS tracks) with Tamiya TS-6 flat black and use acrylics thereafter. A final wash with Mig pigments finishes them off, ready to be installed.
goldnova72
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 627 posts
Armorama: 592 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 07, 2012 - 04:49 PM UTC