_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum: Cold War Soviet Armor
For discussions related to cold war era Russo-Soviet armor.
BMP--2 - Resurrecting an old DML kit
emroglan
Visit this Community
Istanbul, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 1,163 posts
Armorama: 842 posts
Posted: Friday, March 23, 2012 - 06:23 AM UTC
Hello everyone,

Although I'm an AFV modeler at heart, I spent the last quarter of 2010 and the entire 2011 building aircraft models. As of 2012, I decided to make a comeback. However, I realized I had fallen behind in terms of new methods and products.

So instead of risking a brand new kit to my rusty skills, I decided to sacrifice one of my Depot Queens to the almighty Modelling Deities. The kit chosen was DML's old BMP-2 kit. I started building it nearly seven years ago. The fit of the kit was horrid and I didn't have a lot of experience and skill back then. Time to time, I worked on the kit but it was completely abandoned in 2010.

This is how it was looking when I decided to resurrect it (or dump it in the trash can if the result was too gross).

I really do not know why I decided to paint a BMP-2 in a funky spaceship flourescent green. Please don't ask I don't really remember!

The new base color was chosen as Tamiya's XF-65 Field Drab. It looks much better than that green I guess.

Then using whatever different green-greenish yellow and yellow greens, I started to add tones to my BMP-2. The usual suspects are lined up behind the model.

emroglan
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, March 23, 2012 - 06:28 AM UTC
After that, highlights were added. I mixed XF-65 with a very light green color to make the highlights. The NVA decals were replaced.

Then I started adding streaks with oil paints. I used lots of different colors to create movement, ranging from dark colors like black and umber to very light colors like Naples yellow and titanium white.

emroglan
Visit this Community
Posted: Friday, March 23, 2012 - 06:30 AM UTC