_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Large Scale
Dioramas with large scale (1/16 plus) subjects.
Hosted by Darren Baker
The Wall : 1/16 scale pictures part 2
GeneralFailure
Visit this Community
European Union
KitMaker: 2,289 posts
Armorama: 1,231 posts
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2003 - 11:04 AM UTC
Where were we ? Oh yes, that wall.
Once the wall was finished, I added a rusty rainpipe (8 mm tubing, sprinkled with tile cement, spraypainted, weathered and washed).

Then I started painting the wall. First came faded black letters that should spell something like "...natie" and "... Antwerpen", typical inscriptions for Antwerp port warehouses. You see them on the left top of the pictures, very faint.
Then came the graffiti tags and "pieces". I found some nice examples on the internet, and had a lot of fun painting these. Maybe I should now try my luck on a REAL wall in the Antwerp docks
When the tags were finished, I sprayed a faint black coating over them to give them a worn and weathered look.

When the wall and the concrete were painted, I assembled the elements into a diorama, adding a section of dirt. There are some bushes of grass against the borderstone, made from painted chestnut rusks.

The dirt is made up of plaster. On top there's a layer of tile cement (this is really a magic compound to make dio's !) mixed with shavings of red brick. It gives a "dirty" aspect.

All that was lavishly washed with a white spirit / oil paint mixture in black and browns.

To paint everything except the wash, I used Vallejo and Vallejo Game Color paints