_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Techniques
From Weathering to making tent rolls, discuss it here.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Paint after it's been built?
matlox
Visit this Community
New Zealand
KitMaker: 4 posts
Armorama: 4 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 04:29 PM UTC
I am quite new to modeling. I have a Tamiya Pink Panther Land Rover and wondered if it is better to build the whole thing and then paint it, or paint bits as I go, like the smaller bits like stowage and guns and such like.

So what would a pro modeler suggest?
Rouse713
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 367 posts
Armorama: 326 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 04:37 PM UTC
Most modellers will (correctly) tell you to build and paint sections, then complete final assembly. You will see this in:

-build logs
-modelling magazines
-the "pro" builds

I do not. I enjoy building everything first. I may keep some parts detachable to ease painting, but I try to get most everything glued down. For most tanks, I will end up with 2 pieces, the turret and the hull, that's it. The wheels and tracks are all assembled. For open hulled vehicles, it is the same way, unless there are some assemblies I just cannot get at after assembly.

I started this way and I have gotten good at it. I think trying new things out is always good, but I will use a different example. For guitar, there are many ways to use a guitar pick depending on what technique you are going for. If you watch Marty Friedman from Megadeth, he will hold the pick completely different than let's say Paul Gilbert. Both are pro's and have gotten used to their playing style. I say "do whatever is comfortable and get good at it!"
SSGToms
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 3,608 posts
Armorama: 3,092 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 13, 2012 - 05:11 PM UTC