_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
1:72 Sherman
chienlaid
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 22 posts
Armorama: 22 posts
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2012 - 01:57 AM UTC
I'm new to this whole model building game and I have to say I'm having a blast. My days are spent on the web searching for ideas and tutorials.

The one question I have is what do I use to make antennas?

I'm building a couple of 1:72 shermans.

I think I need a 9ft (1.5in) or 15ft (2.5in) antenna for a sherman just not sure what to use. I have some really thin wire, will that work?

I will also build a T26E4 in 1:72 scale...what size antenna do I need for that?

tread_geek
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 2,847 posts
Armorama: 2,667 posts
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2012 - 04:38 AM UTC
@chienlaid - Alain,

Firstly, welcome to Armorama and if you do 1/72 scale, why not join the action in the Braille Scale Forum. I'm sure that I and others there would be most interested to see your work.

As for your antenna question, I use .009" (.23mm) steel guitar string for antennas. It's somewhat flexible but won't bend and distort as copper wire will. Of course you use a CA glue to attach it. From what I've read, most US World War II and Korea antennas where between 8 and 9 feet.

Cheers,
Jan
chienlaid
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2012 - 05:40 AM UTC
Thanks for the welcome, this is a great forum.

Here is a link to my first ever build. It was a trumpeter 1:35 M1A2 Abrams. There were a lot of first for me on this build. Airbrush, camo, weathering, etc...It's not perfect, but I'm happy with it.

https://armorama.kitmaker.net/forums/200088

That's what the braille scale forum is about. I thought it was about something else. lol