Getting reaquainted with a Leopard
Thudius
Visit this Community
Uusimaa, Finland
KitMaker: 1,194 posts
Armorama: 1,077 posts
Posted: Friday, December 28, 2012 - 03:30 AM UTC
Howdy,

Well, I've gone and done it. After an all too long absence, the urge won. I've been modelling vicariously for the past 7+ years and decided to get back in the game. This is going to be a slow build due to several constraining factors, but hopefully, an enjoyable one for you folks as well as myself.

The goodies:
" BORDER="0">

To say I went slightly nuts is an understatement. A kind soul decided to part ways with the Italeri kit and some extras for a very very reasonable sum, thank you. I picked up a bunch of aftermarket stuff and of course some books. Not pictured are the Tamiya Gepard and Heller 1A2 which I got for the turret (cheaply to boot I might add) for future projects.

The Italeri A4 is going to be a Finnish what if and haven't decided what the A5 will eventually be. I started with the Tamiya kit. Not the greatest, but certainly not the worst kit out there either. For an old kit, it holds up well. Little to no flash, fit so far is generally good (particularly the barrel), detail is not bad considering it's vintage. A quick comparison to my refs and the Italeri kit shows that it is reasonably accurate. The road wheels are a bit wide compared to Italeri. Not a big deal because this is a test bed of sorts so I'm not going to worry about every little detail being spot on, plus they will be partially hidden by the side skirts any way.

Build pics in the next post

Cheers

ivanhoe6
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 2,023 posts
Armorama: 1,234 posts
Posted: Friday, December 28, 2012 - 05:20 AM UTC
Good Luck ! And have fun and please keep us posted. It's fun going old school every once in a while.
junglejim
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 1,728 posts
Armorama: 1,629 posts
Posted: Friday, December 28, 2012 - 05:29 AM UTC