Hosted by Darren Baker
Walls
panzerconor
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 1,271 posts
Armorama: 1,253 posts
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 - 12:04 PM UTC
I'm looking at building a diorama with a park wall & a street, but it doesn't look like any of the miniart or verlinden kits are long enough to fit a JS-1 and my German infantry. SO! My question is wether or not I should buy two of the same kits of this: http://www.scalehobbyist.com/catagories/Buildings/MIA00035547/product.php?s=0&t=6&pg=1&ppp=48&sb=stocknumber&so=a&e=0&kw=miniart&era=6&sc=35&type=alternatives or try to rework something like this http://www.scalehobbyist.com/catagories/Buildings/MIA00035505/product.php?s=0&t=6&pg=1&ppp=48&sb=stocknumber&so=a&e=0&kw=miniart&era=6&sc=35&type=alternatives

I've never worked with miniart before so I'm not too sure what to expect either

Any feedback would be great

-Conor
CReading
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,726 posts
Armorama: 892 posts
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 - 12:40 PM UTC
Two of the modular Miniart walls looks like it would do the trick.
This Miniart model is vacuformed and is a little different in preperation and assembly. The Miniart webside has a very good instructional section that I recomend you check out before you buy these kits and attempt them. The first one I tried building was a nightmare because I went into it as though it were a vacuform airplane and attempted to add plastic stock for gluing and alignment purposes....I really overkilled. If you follow their instructions for both assembly and painting you'll have a winner.

Cheers,
C.
roudeleiw
Visit this Community
Luxembourg
KitMaker: 2,406 posts
Armorama: 2,224 posts
Posted: Monday, January 21, 2013 - 06:50 PM UTC
If only the wall is not long enough , why not scratch one?
Buy a pack of selfdrying clay, put i onto any support (a piece of wood sheet for example) with a bit of wood glue and scrib your own wall!