_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas: Before Building
Ideas, concepts, and researching your next diorama.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Advice on an idea
ziel0007
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 5 posts
Armorama: 5 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 03, 2013 - 02:47 AM UTC
Hello, I am new to the game really. I have an idea for a diorama based on the battle for Raseiniai in Lithuania in 1941. However, being inexperienced at dio building I don't know if the dio would be as interesting as the actual story behind it.

The history behind it is a single Soviet KV1 parked in the middle of a road between an advanced unit of the 6th Panzer Division and the main body of the Division. This tank blocked all supplies and medical care, destroying anything that attempted to break through. The KV1 was, according to the memoir, 'annoying'.

The Germans brought up multiple PAK38 AT guns that did nothing and got knocked out by the tank promptly. The Germans then snuck an 88 up but the KV1 waited until it was close enough and destroyed it. Finally Pioneers snuck right up to the tank at night and placed explosives that did nothing to destroy the tank and caused only minimal damage.

It is a great story as told from the German commander, but would it make a feasible dio? How big would it be to capture the entire assault on the single tank? It seems it would have to be a large base to cover the KV1, two destroyed PAK38s, a destroyed 88, pioneers, casualties, and the command team observing from a hill. Or would it be better to not include all elements? How would you approach this, if at all?

Sorry for the long post but I don't have experience and would appreciate any thoughts the community might have.

Jon
corsair924
Visit this Community
New Hampshire, United States
KitMaker: 403 posts
Armorama: 322 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 03, 2013 - 03:31 AM UTC
IMHO- the problem with this idea is, like most situations, the range of modern (& ww2) weapons complicates proper distancing in any diorama.