Alternative tracks Revell 1/76 Jagdpanther
scaleyback
Visit this Community
Louth, Ireland
KitMaker: 29 posts
Armorama: 25 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 23, 2013 - 02:03 PM UTC
Hi guys,
I am a novice modeller, currently on my third build - Revell's 1/76 Jagdpanther.
I am looking for alternatives to the tracks that come with this model. I am really not having a good time with them. Apart from looking nothing like the real Jagdpanther, I found them really difficult to clean up with so much flash from ejector pin marks. To add to my woes I painted them before fitting, but when I went to fit them the whole paint flaked off.
I have them stripped down now back to bare rubber. Before I tackle them again (I will probably have to try a primer on them) I was wondering are there alternative tracks I could use?
PanzerAlexander
Visit this Community
Attica, Greece / Ελλάδα
KitMaker: 625 posts
Armorama: 608 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 23, 2013 - 09:26 PM UTC
Hi Kevin,

Welcome to Armorama and to the world of scale modeling.

I think that Part makes a PE set for the Revell Panther and therefore JgPanther. It's set P72086.

However,for a novice modeler I would not recommend investing in PE after market tracks. Your first models will look quite obsolete quickly as you progress in techniques and skill .

Allow me to give some hints on how to work on rubber tracks.

No matter what you do there is a possibility for the paint to flake as you fit them on the model because you need to expand/curve them so the layer of paint simply cannot follow that.

Instead if you fit them and glue them unpainted on the model with super glue and after that prime them and finally paint them the paint will behave like on any other plastic surface.. Try to use acrylic colors as some vinyl materials can be damaged by white spirit based paints. Priming is a must on vinyl tracks.

Good luck with whatever yo choose to do.

P.A.
Dangeroo
Visit this Community
Zurich, Switzerland
KitMaker: 2,058 posts