_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Allied - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Allied forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
HIGHLY disappointed
WARCLOUD
Visit this Community
Jihocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
KitMaker: 280 posts
Armorama: 274 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 19, 2013 - 10:01 PM UTC
I am learning a hard and quite disappointing lesson...
I am a lifelong model builder. I am also a veteran, an ex Tanker, a military gun collector and a military vehicle enthusiast and belong to several organizations in real world vintage vehicles and weapons. Well, I guess it's like this:
DON'T ever ask those guys ANYTHING. PERIOD.
I don't know what their overall problem is, but it's quite selfish and rude. You ask any of these guys for one little photo or a measurement and OMG what you'll get! At best, a polite "Go run along sonny". At worst, insults and derision for being one of those annoying "model people" asking stupid questions! I am appalled! I am shocked! Horrified even! What NERVE! What is WRONG with people these days? Good gawd, no wonder America is crumbling, with this "Go away, I got mine so leave me alone" mentality! Everyone has lost their minds!
Anyone else had bad experiences asking for help from real armor collectors? I'd like to hear it..
This relates to my quest to verify dimensions on the Dragon M16 AA halftrack..which has obvious problems..not ONE of my so-called "brothers" or "friends" with real M16 'tracks will lift a finger for me. We have here in Czech Republic a complete M16 in the armor museum at Lesany, so I'll cruise on over THERE and get what I need. But these guys I thought I knew in the veteran and WW2 collector community? They should hope they never find themselves on fire in my presence. I'll not waste the contents of my bladder towards their aid.
mat
Visit this Community
Limburg, Netherlands
KitMaker: 894 posts
Armorama: 643 posts
Posted: Sunday, May 19, 2013 - 10:54 PM UTC
Hi Gary,