1st AFV: ZSU-23-4M 'Shilka'
turkeyshot
Visit this Community
New South Wales, Australia
KitMaker: 138 posts
Armorama: 133 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 12:43 PM UTC
Hi all,

I've been lurking here for a while now and frankly have been far too intimidated by the amazing quality of the work by fellow members here on the boards to post any photos of my own work. Finding some courage recently, I decided I would post some photos and get some feedback and advice.

This is my first ever AFV build and my first attempt at modelling in about 20 years, so advice is welcomed, but please keep in mind that I am a Noob and have no real idea what I am doing.

The kit is an old ZSU-23-4M 'Shilka' by Dragon (Kit #3518) given to me as a gift about 15 years ago. I found it in storage last year after living abroad for several years and thought I would finally take a crack at building it. The years have not been kind to the plastic: the main hull was badly warped and the decals had all deteriorated. Undeterred and inspired by the great work that I was looking at here on the boards, I went out and bought some glue and paint.

At first I wasn't sure what army to portray this as, but eventually settled on Syrian partly for the ease of the paint scheme and partly because I really liked the look of the MIG Arab Tanker Vol.1 that I also built. In a fit of inspiration I decided to depict the ZSU-23 with a thrown track to add a little interest and also tried my hand at making a simple base to display it on.

Once assembly was completed (with what I am sure was far too much glue), I sprayed the ZSU-23 with a can of Tamiya Tan (AS-15). As this was my first model I had not made the investment in an airbrush (although am now seriously considering it). I then gave the entire model a wash with Burnt Umber oil paint, although I fear, as with the glue, I may have been a little heavy handed with this.