_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: Axis - WWII
Armor and ground forces of the Axis forces during World War II.
Hosted by Darren Baker
1/35 Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.H photo etch kit
madjelly
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 4 posts
Armorama: 3 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 06:44 PM UTC
Hey everyone,

I am new to armor building but have experience with miniature building/painting. For learning purposes picked up a Dragon #9029 1/35 Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.H from a local swap meet. Decided that also might want to practice working with photo etched parts on the above kit. I have been doing research and found that back in the day Dragon released a pe kit for the above model with number P35-165. Unfortunately, I did not find any other pe kits for ausf.h. I would like to know if the full kits even exist, or I will need to compile parts from different sources?

Thanks
Thudius
Visit this Community
Uusimaa, Finland
KitMaker: 1,194 posts
Armorama: 1,077 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 03:59 AM UTC
I suspect you could get away with using the Voyager set for the E-F or the Eduard set designed for Zvezda's F, which might be a Dragon re-pop or vice-verse? Most of the parts are for clamps and fender flaps etc, so they would be universal. If you're just doing a build to get familiar with pe, I'd go with the Eduard set, it's cheaper. They also do a zoom set which is just basically exhaust screen mesh and a few bits and bobs.

Kimmo
Blackstoat
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 568 posts
Armorama: 561 posts
Posted: Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 06:40 AM UTC
Hi Dan

I understand exactly where you're coming from. I was there only a few months ago.