_GOTOBOTTOM
Dioramas
Do you love dioramas & vignettes? We sure do.
Iraq/Iran diorama question/possible build.
MikeyBugs95
Visit this Community
New York, United States
KitMaker: 2,210 posts
Armorama: 1,712 posts
Posted: Friday, July 12, 2013 - 10:52 AM UTC
Hello. I have a plan for possibly making a somewhat large diorama depicting a battle scene from somewhere in Iraq, Iran, or Afghanistan involving at least 2-4, most likely 3 though, vehicles and multiple figures. I am new to diorama building save for those small shoebox dioramas that you build in kindergarten and first grade. Now I am wondering whether I can or where I can find a diorama base that's large enough to fit this amount of stuff or whether I have to actually cast or build my own base.

If you can help, I'd appreciate it. Need list to say that I would not be starting this immediately. First I would have to accumulate the assorted kits and such. And me not having any money, and a very large hole in my pocket, I would hold off doing this for a little while. So I would have this as a future reference.

Thank you.
jphillips
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,066 posts
Armorama: 789 posts
Posted: Friday, July 12, 2013 - 01:09 PM UTC
Welcome to the world of dioramas, and good luck with your project. Your ambition is commendable, and it's good to see that you already have an idea of the subject you want to portray.
Books and websites will provide you with pics as a reference, and give you ideas. There are a lot of sites with pics from the Afghan civil wars, Operations Enduring Freedom, Desert Shield and Iraqi Freedom and the Iran-Iraq war.
Do you want to build an urban diorama, or something taking place out in the countryside? How many buildings, figures and vehicles are you planning to include in your scene?