_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Re-priming?
communityguy
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 493 posts
Armorama: 358 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 03:29 AM UTC
I'm about to spray primer on my first superdetailed model. I'm a bit nervous about what the primer will reveal, considering how much PE and CA are on the model.

Do people tend to re-prime models? Meaning:

* I clean up the model as best as I can
* I spray primer
* I find some areas that need cleaning and sand/scrape/etc. to clean them up. Now there are "holes" in the primer

Do you just start painting and not worry about those holes? Or do you apply another coat of primer so the entire model is fully covered in primer?

Thanks!
didgeboy
Visit this Community
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 1,846 posts
Armorama: 1,509 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 03:55 AM UTC
i am no expert by any means, but when I have had the same issue, either touch up the areas that need to be re-primed, or I just shoot the base coat. The main goal of your primer is to give the base coat something to adhere to. small gaps should not be an issue over all unless you are doing some serious scrubbing during the weathering process. Big gaps are a best covered so as not to lose the adhesion. Cheers.
firstcircle
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,249 posts
Armorama: 2,007 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 10:28 AM UTC
Jake, I think it is pretty common to re-prime, thought I guess only you can tell if it is going to cause a problem if you don't do so - depends on how clean and even you need the subsequent base coat to be, how much you damaged the first coat of primer, what the opacity of your base coat is going to be, what colour the plastic is (like, is it bright red? ).