_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
AKI Resedagrun?
orangelion03
Visit this Community
California, United States
KitMaker: 176 posts
Armorama: 148 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 13, 2013 - 06:10 AM UTC
Where did this come from as a late war camo color for German vehicles? Included in the AKI late war color set, and referred to in the 1945 German Colors book. I'm no camo expert by a long shot, but what I have read about German colors at the end of the war, references are to either Olivgrun or Dunkelgrun. Is Resedagrun intended as a "scale" color for the darker hues??
SdAufKla
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 2,238 posts
Armorama: 2,158 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 01:15 AM UTC
That's an interesting question.

Reseda is low growing Mediterranean plant that looks a little like sage or fox glove but with light yellow or whitish flowers.

I'm not sure why the WWII Germans would have developed and named a color for a weed that doesn't grow in central Europe. On the other hand, maybe there was an RAL color called "Resedagrun" (perhaps one of those strange Luftwaffe colors?). I've never read anything about WWII German armor camouflage that references any such color, though.

However, it it's not a "real" WWII RAL color, and it's a lightened shade of green intended for post-shading, why didn't AKI simply call it something to that effect - ex "Post-shade WWII Olive Green"?

Maybe someone from AKI will chime in here and explain what they intended.

Curious...
deerstalker36
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 232 posts
Armorama: 218 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 02:25 AM UTC
Reseda Grun, according to the RAL page on wiki comes under RAL 6011 and was used as a priming coat on machines relevant to DIN 1844 (DIN is the german institute for standardisation, 1844 is that standard for painting machines:green)
orangelion03