_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
How to remove the seam line on Gun tubes
SS-74
Visit this Community
Vatican City
KitMaker: 3,271 posts
Armorama: 2,388 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 04, 2002 - 06:05 PM UTC
Hi Guys,

It might be a question that had been asked a million times. I am sorry that I need to ask it again. Since I am rather new to Armor modelling, (Just finished 6 to 7 models so far). One thing bothers me is the seam line in the middle of a plastic kit gun tube. Is there a good way to remove them? I had tried to putty them up and sand, but I either can't remove them totally, or I end up with an oval shaped gun tube. That's why for the last few models, I always been purchasing metal turned tube to replace the kit tube. But once a while I would like to use the one comes with the kit. So any help will be appreciated. Thanks!

Sabot
KitMaker: 12,596 posts
Armorama: 9,071 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 04, 2002 - 07:02 PM UTC
I lightly sand the edges of each half. I test fit to ensure that the tube will be round when cemented. After that, I put glue into the locating pins only and clamp them together. After I ensure that the barrel halves are aligned, I used to use Tenex 7, but now use Tamiya Extra Fine liquid glue. I run a bead along the seam with the fine point brush. I try not to hurry.

I used to just glue both halves together and clamp, then try to sand the seam, but I too ended up with an oval barrel.
sgtreef
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
KitMaker: 6,043 posts
Armorama: 4,347 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 04, 2002 - 07:05 PM UTC
Best way I have found is to scrap with hobby knife at an angle then take fine sandpaper and put barrel between paper and sand while twirling barrel through paper,kind of keeps it round. Or get some brass tubing to replace if not a tapered barrel.
ArmouredSprue
Visit this Community
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 1,958 posts
Armorama: 1,003 posts