_GOTOBOTTOM
Armor/AFV: IDF [Israeli Defense Forces]
Armor and AFVs of the IDF army from 1947-today.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Heller 1/35th/ IDF AMX-13 1967
frogman_13
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 84 posts
Armorama: 81 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 09, 2013 - 02:14 AM UTC
Hi Guys,

Second time around...I just had this post evaporate into thin air, so here it is again. My Heller AMX-13, a work in progress. IDF 1967. It will probably end up as a Golan Heights diorama piece along with a T-34 or SU-100. The tank crew is next to add some life to the vehicle. The MiniArt US WW-2 crew are fine for this era. This kit is not as bad as I've heard, but I am an old modeler and grew up on simple, undetailed and inaccurate kits. I did purchase the Friul AMX tracks which were just great. I hate the assembly but love the final result. The rear idler was pinched from a new Dragon Hetzer kit which (luckily) had some alternate early idlers included in the box, so not a total loss for the one part missing. I haven't added the stowage yet that will come along with the figures, and of course the dust...So, for now it's a single model but soon will be part of a larger diorama. Hope you like it.

Cheers
Ed Okun/ Frogman13
18Bravo
Visit this Community
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 7,219 posts
Armorama: 6,097 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 09, 2013 - 03:07 AM UTC
Great job Ed. Can you tel us what you've done to better the kit? I've had one in the 90% finished phase for about 15 years now, with a Verlinden turret. I just never could seem to get motivated to finish it, but yours may change that.
I can't wait to seie it with figures - I love your '73 figures with the sideburns and beards. I have that Mini art set you speak of, and they are quite nice.
frogman_13
Visit this Community
United States
Posted: Wednesday, October 09, 2013 - 04:26 AM UTC
Hi Robert,

Thanks for your kind words. Off the top of my head the improvements I made for a type specific IDF AMX were: