Hosted by Darren Baker
foamboard and plaster question
LancashireFusilier
Visit this Community
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 14 posts
Armorama: 13 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 06:21 AM UTC
I am planning on buying some foam board to make a building out of,but was wondering when i apply the plaster to the wall of the building do i take off the paper backing....i'm planning on using plaster of paris...your help in this matter is much appreciated and thanx for any help given
sabre1866
Visit this Community
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 93 posts
Armorama: 89 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 06:49 AM UTC
Hi Stephen,
I'm not an expert but, beware when the plaster dries it will contract and warp your work and probably render it unusable.

I tried it with 2 inch insulation board, i was thrilled with the result, but when I pulled it off the shelf to use

Arrrgh!. Back to square One

Moral, always experiment to avoid heartache. Hope this helps. Rog.
Marty
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
KitMaker: 2,312 posts
Armorama: 1,054 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 09:25 AM UTC
Foam board will warp. I would recommend using plaster board instead. In the US we call it sheetrock. You can remove the paper backing and you are left with a nice sheet of plaster.
parrot
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 1,607 posts
Armorama: 1,581 posts
Posted: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 09:46 AM UTC
Hi Stephen,

I've worked with foamboard most of my adult life.
I constantly use it for buildings since I got back into modelling.
First,always use a sharp tipped blade.It may take a lot of breaking it off,but you get a nice clean cut were a blade getting dull will tend to rip the foamboard.All the cut edges ie:windows and doors should be slightly sanded with fine paper.Don't remove the paper backings.If you do your left with a frail piece of styrofoam.No sense in buying foamboard.