_GOTOBOTTOM
Яusso-Soviэt Forum
Russian or Soviet vehicles/armor modeling forum.
kitbash SU-85
ComradeMP
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 472 posts
Armorama: 453 posts
Posted: Monday, December 23, 2013 - 08:03 PM UTC
So I though I would go about taking on the Tamiya SU-85 again. Was one of the first kits I built, though I could do a better job this time around. Only got so far before I didn't want to go with it. Guess these newer kits spoiled me. So I remember hearing about possibly kit bashing a SU-85 with Dragon's SU-85M, looked around and heard good things but didn't see anyone that did it.

So I bought myself another Dragon SU-85M (original plan was kit bashing a SU-122, but I'll do that after I finish this one) and just tried it out. This is my first time trying this out and I know I'll have to do some work with putty, epoxy, evergreen, etc. So this should be a nice learning experience. Don't know how accurate I'll get it, but I hope it turns out looking decent.

Tamiya SU-85

I wanted to start out with the castmate and gun asssembly, everything after that should be straight forward. Added these lifting hooks I saw in a walk around and a spare metal D-5T I had.

Used Mr.Surfacer for the first time, went with the rattle can, 1000 since that's all they had. Looks nice.

Did a lot of trimming and filling for the gun placement. Still not good at shaping, so I trimmed off and used some of the tamiya parts (from a damaged old build) also made things go faster.

Still more work to do on the castmate, add some more welds, etc. Added a few of the other parts, there were gaps between the frame for the castmate and the front plate so I decided to use some putty for the edges of the plate and other parts. The opening for the su-100 copula was covered over with several layers of evergreen and filled in and sanded.