_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
How to thin Tamiya acrylics for airbrushing
overthedge21
Visit this Community
Connecticut, United States
KitMaker: 81 posts
Armorama: 80 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 11:47 AM UTC
Hi guys I'm new to airbrushing, but not modeling. I want to thin my Tamiya acrylics so that I can use them in my AB. Does anyone know what ratio I should use to thin it, and which type of tamiya thinner I should use, as there are a few different ones. Also, does anyone know what pressure I should use to spray the paint? The AB head itself is a Master Airbrush model G44
chumpo
Visit this Community
United States
KitMaker: 749 posts
Armorama: 521 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 12:10 PM UTC
I spray Tamiya and Mr Hobby , they both can use the X20A thinner or lacquer thinner . I start at 50/50 mix and maybe 5% acrylic paint retarder and spray at 18 to 22 PSIG . After spraying even if the paint dries leave it alone and let it cure overnight it's going to be soft until fully dried . I also use this mix to brush paint , just don't go over the freshly painted surface more than once . Hope this helps .
varanusk
Staff MemberManaging Editor
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain / España
KitMaker: 1,288 posts
Armorama: 942 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 12:23 PM UTC
Hi,
I have used 50-50 paint to isopropylic alcohol, much cheaper than Tamiya thinner, and always went fine.

Best regards,

Carlos
wedgetail53
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 658 posts
Armorama: 629 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 25, 2013 - 12:25 PM UTC
Gary

I have found the best method to be to thin the paint to the consistency of milk, and spray in THIN coats. I use lacquer thinner.

I used to use acrylic thinner, but lacquer thinner gives much smoother results.

Regards

Rob
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA