_GOTOBOTTOM
AFV Painting & Weathering
Answers to questions about the right paint scheme or tips for the right effect.
Panther Ausf. G 1:72 Revell
SimonK
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
KitMaker: 28 posts
Armorama: 20 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 05, 2014 - 03:04 AM UTC
Hello everyone!

Can someone please tell me which colours do I need to paint this model?

I have access to Humbrol primer, but nothing else. The shop I want to go to has tamiya acrylics, so I would prefer tamiya suggestions. Also, revell's manual is really confusing regarding the colours.. otherwise I would've just picked corresponding tamiya colours

This is my first time painting a model, so I'm looking for advice.

I'm planning to follow the same pattern as seen on the following page:

http://www.missing-lynx.com/gallery/small/pantherg72at_1.html
easyco69
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 2,275 posts
Armorama: 2,233 posts
Posted: Wednesday, February 05, 2014 - 03:28 AM UTC
In my opinion.
Tamiya Dark Yellow XF-60, Tamiya Dark Green XF-61, Tamiya Red Brown XF-64. Lay your dark primer down first. Base coat it Dark Yellow, Green then Brown.
Then after paint is dry, follow that with MIG dark brown ENAMEL wash.
Use Tamiya flat Flesh to lighten your 3 camo colors , use this for "drybrushing" edges on each seperate camo color. Followed by a pencil lead to simulate steel wear edges. If your going to chip, use very fine "german gray" with pencil lead on top of it. [ you can also use very fine sand paper 400-600 grit to lightly simulate edge scratches + pencil lead]
Then use MIG pigments around the lower part of tank ie - tracks. Use your red brown on the tracks + dark pigments followed by tamiya aluminum lightly on the worn edges of tracks.Other steps are using dot oil marks, oil stain marks using oil paints..etc.. never ending techniques. Practice, practice !
Phew...
This camo pattern.

SimonK
Visit this Community
Dublin, Ireland
Posted: Wednesday, February 05, 2014 - 03:38 AM UTC